UNC Davis named Big Sky MVP; All-Conference and individual awards announced


BOISE, Idaho (March 12, 2019) – Northern Colorado senior guard Jordan Davis has been named the Big Sky Conference Men’s Basketball Most Valuable Player to headline a group of 19 players selected to the league’s 2018-19 all-conference team Tuesday as voted on by the Big Sky head coaches. Coaches could not vote for their own players.

Davis averaged a league-high 23.8 points per game to rank in the top 10 nationally and climb to second on the Big Sky career scoring leaderboard with 2,257 points. The Las Vegas, Nev. native also ranked fourth in the conference with 4.6 assists and 1.4 steals per contest. He becomes the second UNC player to be named the Big Sky MVP after Devon Beitzel in 2010-11.

Davis, the lone unanimous All-Big Sky First Team honoree, was joined on the first team by Montana senior guard Ahmaad Rorie, Weber State junior guard Jerrick Harding, Montana junior guard Sayeed Pridgett and Montana State senior guard Tyler Hall.

Rorie garnered his second-straight All-Big Sky First Team nod with 14.7 points per game to help carry the Griz to a second consecutive Big Sky regular season title. A native of Tacoma, Wash., Rorie ranked fifth in the Big Sky with 4.0 assists per game and second with a 2.6 assist-to-turnover ratio.

After ranking second in the league in scoring for the second-straight year, Harding was tabbed an All-Big Sky First Team selection for the second time with 21.9 points per game this season. The Wichita, Kan. product led the league with an 87.1 percentage from the charity stripe and was second with 1.7 steals per game.

Pridgett led the Griz with 16.3 points per game during conference play while averaging 14.9 on the season to garner his first All-Big Sky honor. The Oakland, Calif. native was one of the hottest shooters in the Big Sky with a 60.8 percent clip from the floor to rank second in the league. He also added 1.3 steals per game to his stat line that placed him seventh.

Hall collected his second All-Big Sky First Team award after being named to the second team a season ago. He broke two conference career records this season, setting a new scoring (2,475) and three-point standard (421) for the Big Sky. A native of Rock Island, Ill., Hall ranked third in the league with 20.5 points per game while connecting on a conference-best 3.5 three-pointers per game. He also shot 83.3 percent from the line for fourth in the league.

Being named to the All-Big Sky Second Team were Montana State junior guard Harald Frey, Sacramento State senior guard Marcus Graves, Portland State sophomore guard Holland Woods, Eastern Washington junior forward Mason Peatling and Eastern Washington senior forward Jesse Hunt.

The All-Big Sky Third Team was comprised of Montana senior guard Michael Oguine, Eastern Washington sophomore guard Jacob Davison, Sacramento State junior center Joshua Patton, Northern Arizona sophomore forward Bernie Andre and Southern Utah junior guard/forward Cameron Oluyitan.

The honorable mention team was made up of Northern Colorado junior guard Jonah Radebaugh, Weber State senior forward Brekkott Chapman, Weber State junior guard Cody John and Idaho State junior guard Brandon Boyd.

In a three-way tie for Big Sky Newcomer of the Year, Andre, Oluyitan and Montana junior guard Kendal Manuel were honored while Manuel was also tabbed the Big Sky Top Reserve. Northern Colorado collected two honors with guard Bodie Hume taking Big Sky Freshman of the Year accolades and Radebaugh being named the defensive player of the year for the second time in his career (2017). Radebaugh is the fourth player in league history to garner multiple defensive player of the year honors since the award began in 2001-02.

The Big Sky Men’s Basketball Championship Presented by My Place Hotels gets underway Wednesday with three first round games at Boise’s CenturyLink Arena. The quarterfinals are slated for Thursday leading up to semifinal games on Friday. The men’s championship will air Saturday on ESPNU with a tip time slated of 6:05 p.m.

2018-19 Big Sky Men’s Basketball All-Conference Teams
Jordan Davis*GuardSeniorNorthern Colorado
Ahmaad Rorie#GuardSeniorMontana
Jerrick Harding#GuardJuniorWeber State
Sayeed PridgettGuardJuniorMontana
Tyler Hall#GuardSeniorMontana State
Harald FreyGuardJuniorMontana State
Marcus GravesGuardSeniorSacramento State
Holland WoodsGuardSophomorePortland State
Mason PeatlingForwardJuniorEastern Washington
Jesse HuntForwardSeniorEastern Washington
Michael OguineGuardSeniorMontana
Jacob DavisonGuardSophomoreEastern Washington
Joshua PattonCenterJuniorSacramento State
Bernie AndreForwardSophomoreNorthern Arizona
Cameron OluyitanGuard/ForwardJuniorSouthern Utah
Jonah RadebaughGuardJuniorNorthern Colorado
Brekkott ChapmanForwardSeniorWeber State
Brandon BoydGuardJuniorIdaho State
Cody JohnGuardJuniorWeber State
* Unanimous First Team Selection
# Two-time First Team Selection

Individual Award Winners
Most Valuable Player: Jordan Davis, Northern Colorado
Co-Newcomer of the Year: Bernie Andre, Northern Arizona; Cameron Oluyitan, Southern Utah; Kendal Manuel, Montana
Freshman of the Year: Bodie Hume, Northern Colorado
Defensive Player of the Year: Jonah Radebaugh, Northern Colorado
Top Reserve: Kendal Manuel, Montana

About Press Release

    Recommended for you