Big Sky Conference

Hamler, Gunt, Aguilar earn Big Sky weekly awards


With Week 1 in the books, the Big Sky Conference has announced its weekly award winners for football. The Big Sky ROOT SPORTS Offensive Player of the Week nod went to redshirt freshman Jalen Hamler of Cal Poly. Portland State senior rover Romeo Gunt was named Defensive Player of the Week, and Northern Arizona senior kicker Luis Aguilar earned Special Teams honors.

In his first game in a Mustang uniform, Hamler completed his first six passes, three for touchdowns. He was 6-for-6 for 211 yards and three scores until late in the second quarter when he threw his first incomplete pass. He had touchdown passes of 55, 60 and 23 yards. The redshirt freshman finished eight of 11 for 221 yards and three scores without an interception. He showed his speed on the ground rushed for 96 yards, including rushing touchdowns of 3 and 38 yards. Jalen accounted for five of Cal Poly’s seven touchdowns in the game, as he led the Mustangs to a 52-34 victory over San Diego. Cal Poly’s 52 points were the most since the 2016 season.

Gunt led Portland State to a near upset over Arkansas of the SEC. Gunt made 15 tackles to lead the Vikings as they held Arkansas to 20 points and 395 yards of offense. The 15 tackles were a career-high and ranked fourth-most in the nation during Week 1 play.

Aguilar helped lift Northern Arizona to a 37-23 win over Missouri State. Aguilar was a perfect 3-for-3 on field goal attempts (48, 21, 46) in the Lumberjacks’ season-opening win over Missouri State. His 48-yard made field goal was a career-long – beating his previous career-long of 38 yards. He registered 7-of-8 kickoffs for touchbacks – also breaking his previous career-best of four. Aguilar averaged 65.5 yards per kickoff.

Others Nominated – Offense: Brandon Porter, NAU; Ulonzo Gilliam, UCD; Zach Nelson, SUU; Dalton Sneed, UM; Pierre Williams, SAC; Andrew Boston, EWU.

Defense: Jack Sendelbach, EWU; Carson Taylor, NAU; Carter Nichols, CP; Tre Walker, UI; Devin King, UCD; Allen Perryman, SAC; Nela Otukolo, SUU; Robby Hauck, UM; Conner Mortensen, WSU; Bryce Sterk, MSU.

Special Teams: Kedrick Johnson, EWU; Colton Theaker, CP; Cody Williams, PSU; Pat Miller, UCD; Devon Medeiros, SAC; Malik Flowers, UM, Jered Pedmos, MSU.

About Press Release

    Recommended for you