Big Sky Conference

UC Davis WR Doss among Walter Payton Award finalists


UC Davis Sports information
CHICAGO – UC Davis junior wide receiver Keelan Doss is one of the final three players vying for the Walter Payton Award, presented to the most outstanding FCS offensive player in the nation during the STATS FCS Award Banquet, as announced on Monday. Doss will join senior quarterbacks Jeremiah Briscoe (Sam Houston State) and Chris Streveler (South Dakota) at STATS’ event, taking place in Frisco, Texas, on Jan. 5 — the night before the FCS National Championship Game.
A national panel of 151 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries voted on the Walter Payton Award following the regular season.

Doss, the Big Sky Conference’s Offensive Player of the Year, and first-team all-conference selection, ended his junior season leading all FBS and FCS players in receiving yards (1,499), receptions per game (10.5) and receiving yards per game (136.3).
The Alameda, Calif. native also set new all-time single-season program records in receiving yards, 100-yard receiving games (9) and pass receptions (115). He also set new Big Sky-era single-game records when he finished with 15 catches and 208 yards when the Aggies hosted Eastern Washington.
Briscoe, the 2016 Walter Payton recipient, is looking to join former Appalachian State quarterback Armanti Edwards as the second two-time winner of this award. As is the case with Doss, Streveler is his conference’s 2017 Offensive Player of the Year.
Past winners of the Walter Payton Award, which was first handed out in 1987, include Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, John Friesz, Brian Finneran, Jimmy Garoppolo and Cooper Kupp — players that continued their career in the NFL.
Press release courtesy of UC Davis Athletics. Photos contributed. All Rights Reserved. 

About Press Release

    Recommended for you