Big Sky Conference rolls out 2021 preseason football team


SPOKANE, Washington – Preseason favorite Weber State placed a league-high seven players on the 2021 Big Sky Conference preseason all-league football team on Monday.

Weber State, who was picked by the coaches and media to win the league once again this season, led the preseason honors with seven total players. Montana was next with five, as a total of 19 players from this year’s team earned the same preseason honor last season.

Preseason MVPs Eric Barriere of Eastern Washington and Tre Walker of Idaho highlighted the teams as Barriere captured the quarterback spot once again and Walker nabbed one of the Big Sky’s highly-contested linebacker spots.

Eastern Washington senior quarterback Eric Barriere, pictured here during the 2018 national title game in Frisco, Texas/ by Brooks Nuanez

The EWU quarterback led the Big Sky in nearly every passing category, finishing the spring with 2,439 yards and 19 touchdowns through the air thanks to 183 completions. He led the squad in total offense with 2,583 yards on the year as the Eagles earned an FCS Playoff berth. 

Walker finished Idaho’s 2021 spring campaign with 54 total tackles, splitting evenly at 27 between solo and assisted. That resulted in him being named to five different All-American teams, along with being named a finalist for the Buck Buchanan Award. He also racked up 4.5 tackles for loss on the season. 

Montana’s Jace Lewis joined Walker in the middle linebacker spot, while the trio of La’akea Kaho’ohanohano-Davis (Southern Utah), Troy Andersen (Montana State) and Conner Mortensen (Weber State) rounded out the talented and deep outside linebacker group.


Eric Barriere – Eastern Washington*

Running Backs

Sac State running back Elijah Dotson tries to elude Montana linebacker Jace Lewis during a game in Missoula in 2018/ by Jason Bacaj

Elijah Dotson – Sac State*

Josh Davis – Weber State*


Logan Kendall – Idaho 

Wide Receivers 

Samuel Akem – Montana*

Talolo Limu-Jones – Eastern Washington

Tanner Conner – Idaho State

Tight Ends

Marshel Martin – Sac State*


Tristen Taylor – Eastern Washington*

Conlan Beaver – Montana*


Montana State senior offensive lineman Taylor Tuiasosopo (51) in 201/by Jason Bacaj

Ty Whitworth – Weber State*

Taylor Tuiasosopo – Montana State*


Connor Pettek – UC Davis


Luis Aguilar – Northern Arizona*

Return Specialist 

Rashid Shaheed – Weber State*


Defensive Tackles

Jared Schiess – Weber State*

Bryce Rodgers – UC Davis*

Defensive Ends

Mitchell Johnson – Eastern Washington 

George Tarlas – Weber State*

Outside Linebackers

La’akea Kaho’ohanohano-Davis – Southern Utah

Troy Andersen – Montana State/Conner Mortensen – Weber State (tie)

Middle Linebackers

Montana senior linebacker Jace Lewis/ by Brooks Nuanez

Tre Walker – Idaho*

Jace Lewis – Montana*


Anthony Adams – Portland State*

Eddie Heckard – Weber State*


Morgan Vest – Northern Arizona

Robby Hauck – Montana*


Daniel Whelan – UC Davis­­


Matthew O’Donoghue – Montana

* – Denotes repeat preseason honoree from 2020

About Press Release

Recommended for you