Big Sky Conference

Wiley, Hooker, Hall earn All-American recognition



Eastern Washington senior, Jacob Wiley earned yet another accolade being named an Associate Press All-America honorable mention last week. Wiley becomes the fifth Eagle to earn an honorable mention and the first since Tyler Harvey picked up the honor in 2015.

Wiley was named the 2016-17 Big Sky Conference Most Valuable Player and earned first team All-District 6 by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

In his lone season at EWU, Wiley became just the second player in Big Sky history to score at least 639 points and have at least 303 rebounds in a single season. He averaged 20.4 points and a league-best 9.1 rebounds per game this season.

Wiley finished the season ranked sixth in NCAA Division I in field goal percentage (.643), eighth in blocked shots (2.76 per game), 29th in scoring (20.4) and 48th in rebounds. He also earned College Sports Madness Mid-Major All-America honors and Oscar Robertson and Mid-Major Player of the Week this season.

Wiley will be in action in the Portsmouth Invitational in Portsmouth, Va., April 12 through 15.


UND senior Quinton Hooker

UND senior Quinton Hooker

For the second-consecutive season, North Dakota senior guard Quinton Hooker was named to the Lou Henson All-America Team on Tuesday, just a day after the 2017 NCAA Tournament was completed. Hooker was one of 30 Mid-Major players selected to the team, including three from the Big Sky Conference. Eastern Washington senior Jake Wiley, the league’s MVP, and Montana State sophomore Tyler Hall, a unanimous first-team All-Big Sky selection, were named to the Lou Henson team as well.

Monmouth’s Justin Robinson was recognized as the Lou Henson Mid-Major Player of the Year by officials at

Hooker was one of 14 players on the Lou Henson team that played in this year’s NCAA Tournament as he led the Fighting Hawks to their first Big Dance. He scored 25 points in UND’s first-round loss to second-seeded Arizona.

Hooker was also a first team All-Big Sky performer for the second year in a row after averaging 19.3 points, 4.6 rebounds and 3.6 assists per game as the Fighting Hawks posted a Division I-program record 22 wins and the Big Sky regular season and tournament titles. He averaged 20.1 points per game in league play, helping UND win the conference with a 14-4 overall record.

Hooker is the second UND player to collect Lou Henson All-America honors in back-to-back seasons, joining former standout Troy Huff, who earned similar accolades in 2013 and 2014.

MSU guard Tyler Hall (3)

MSU guard Tyler Hall (3)

Hall, one of the nation’s most prolific scorers and sweetest shooters, added to his off-season decoration with the Lou Henson nod. Last year’s Big Sky Freshman of the Year averaged 23.1 points per game, among the top 10 marks in the country, as a sophomore. He shot 47.6 percent from the floor, 43 percent from beyond the 3-point line and 83.7 percent from the free throw line.

Hall hit 120 3-pointers, among the top five marks in the nation, and now has 216 made 3-pointers in his career, the most by any Big Sky player through two seasons. His 739 points as a sophomore set an MSU single-season record and was the fourth-most ever scored in a single season by a Big Sky player. Hall ends his sophomore year with 1,317 points, the second-most ever by a Big Sky player after their sophomore season. EWU’s Rodney Stuckey scored 1,438 points in two years before entering the NBA Draft.

Hall was also named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-District selection this off-season. The Rock Island, Illinois, product joined Wiley, Jeremy Senglin of Weber State, Victor Sanders of Idaho and New Mexico State’s Ian Baker on the District 6 first-team.


Ian Baker (New Mexico State)

Evan Bradds (Belmont)

Jarrell Brantley (Charleston)

C.J. Bryce (UNCW)

Chris Clemons (Campbell)

T.J. Cromer (ETSU)

Mike Daum (South Dakota State)

Chris Flemmings (UNCW)

Nana Foulland (Bucknell)

Jimmy Hall (Kent State)

Tyler Hall (Montana State)

Kevin Hervey (UT Arlington)

Quinton Hooker (North Dakota)

Marcus Keene (Central Michigan)

Tim Kempton (Lehigh)

Jock Landale (Saint Mary’s)

Paris Lee (Illinois State)

Keon Johnson (Winthrop)

Drew McDonald (Northern Kentucky)

Markis McDuffie (Wichita State)

Eric Mika (BYU)

Dallas Moore (North Florida)

Alec Peters (Valparaiso)

Justin Robinson (Monmouth)

Landry Shamet (Wichita State)

Devin Sibley (Furman)

Erik Thomas (New Orleans)

Rashawn Thomas (Texas A&M Corpus Christi)

Jacob Wiley (Eastern Washington)

T.J. Williams (Northeastern)

2017 Associated Press All-America Team

First Team

*Lonzo Ball, UCLA, 6-6, Fr., Chino Hills, Calif.

*Josh Hart, Villanova, 6-5½, Sr., Silver Springs, Md.

Justin Jackson, North Carolina, 6-8, Jr., Tomball, Texas

*Frank Mason III, Kansas, 5-11, Sr., Petersburg, Va.

*Caleb Swanigan, Purdue, 6-9, So., Fort Wayne, Ind.

* Unanimous

Second Team

Dillon Brooks, Oregon, 6-7, Jr., Mississauga, Ontario

Luke Kennard, Duke, 6-6, So., Franklin, Ohio

Malik Monk, Kentucky, 6-3, Fr., Lepanto, Ark.

Johnathan Motley, Baylor, 6-10, Jr. Houston

Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga, 6-3, Jr., Happy Valley, Ore.

Honorable Mention (in alphabetical order)

Ian Baker, New Mexico State; Trae Bell-Haynes, Vermont; Evan Bradds, Belmont; Gian Clavell, Colorado State; T.J. Cline, Richmond; Patrick Cole, N.C. Central; Mike Daum, South Dakota State; Angel Delgado, Seton Hall; Jawun Evans, Oklahoma State; Nana Foulland, Bucknell; De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky; Jerome Frink, LIU Brooklyn; Kevin Hervey, Texas-Arlington; Isaiah Johnson, Akron; Keon Johnson, Winthrop; Peter Jok, Iowa; Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga; Marcus Keene, Central Michigan; Jock Landale, Saint Mary’s; TJ Leaf, UCLA; Paris Lee, Illinois State; Zach Lofton, Texas Southern; Donovan Mitchell, Louisville; Dallas Moore, North Florida; Monte Morris, Iowa State; Luke Nelson, UC Irvine; Semi Ojeleye, SMU; Alec Peters, Valparaiso; Justin Robinson, Monmouth; Devin Sibley, Furman; Dennis Smith Jr., N.C. State; Erik Thomas, New Orleans; Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina; Melo Trimble, Maryland; Spencer Weisz, Princeton; Jacob Wiley, Eastern Washington; JaCorey Williams, Middle Tennessee; T.J. Williams, Northeastern.

About Press Release

    Recommended for you