Wiley wins MVP, star guards highlight first team



Capping off a stellar 2016-17 men’s basketball regular season, Eastern Washington senior, Jacob Wiley headlined this year’s Big Sky Conference All-Conference team as the league’s Most Valuable Player and a first-team selection.

Wiley, a Newport Wash., native led the Big Sky in rebounding (9.2/game) and leads the nation in blocked shots at 2.27. Wiley averaged nearly a double-double this season with 20.0 points per game. Wiley and teammate, second-teamer Bogdan Bliznyuk, were the top scoring duo in the Big Sky with a combined average of 40.1 points per game. Wiley’s 86 blocks is third in the Big Sky’s single-season rankings. He’s just 10 blocks away from taking over the top spot.

Southern Utah junior Randy Onwuasor/ courtesy of SUU athletics

Southern Utah junior Randy Onwuasor/ courtesy of SUU athletics

The league’s leading scorer, Southern Utah’s Randy Onwuasor picked up this season’s Top Newcomer award and Second Team honors after leading the conference in scoring at 22.8 points per game. He also ranked in the top 10 in rebounding, assists and steals.

Montana State’s Harald Frey picked up Freshman of the Year and Third-Team honors. The Oslo, Norway native was the league’s top rookie in scoring at 12.5 points per game and assists at 3.3 per game.

Northern Colorado’s Jonah Radebaugh was the league’s Defensive Player of the Year while North Dakota’s Cortez Seales picked up the Top Reserve award.

Wiley was a unanimous First Team selection along with Montana State’s Tyler Hall and North Dakota’s Quinton Hooker. Hooker and Weber State’s Jeremy Senglin picked up their second straight First Team honors. Rounding out the First Team was Idaho junior, Victor Sanders.

Joining Bliznyuk and Onwuasor on the Second Team was North Dakota’s Geno Crandall, Montana’s Ahmaad Rorie, and Sacramento State’s Justin Strings. This year the Big Sky instituted a Third-Team which was headlined by Frey along with Northern Colorado’s Jordan Davis, Northern Arizona’s Jordyn Martin, Portland State’s De’Sean Parsons, and Montana’s Michael Oguine.

The Big Sky Conference men’s basketball championship begins on Tuesday with Northern Arizona and Portland State tipping off at 2:35 p.m. Pacific.

2016-17 Big Sky Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team 
Jacob Wiley, Sr., Eastern Washington*
Tyler Hall, So., Montana State*
Quinton Hooker, Sr., North Dakota*#
Jeremy Senglin, Sr., Weber State#
Victor Sanders, Jr., Idaho

Second Team
Bogdan Bliznyuk, Jr., Eastern Washington
Geno Crandall, So., North Dakota
Ahmaad Rorie, So., Montana
Randy Onwuasor, Jr., Southern Utah
Justin Strings, Jr., Sacramento State

Third Team
Jordan Davis, So., Northern Colorado
Harald Frey, Fr., Montana State
Jordyn Martin, Sr., Northern Arizona
De’Sean Parsons, Sr., Portland State
Michael Oguine, So., Montana

*Unanimous First Team selection
#Two-Time First Team selection

Individual Award Winners

Jacob Wiley, Sr., Eastern Washington

Newcomer of the Year
Randy Onwuasor, Jr., Southern Utah

Freshman of the Year
Harald Frey, Fr., Montana State

Defensive Player of the Year
Jonah Radebaugh, Fr., Northern Colorado

Top Reserve
Cortez Seales, So., North Dakota

About Press Release

    Recommended for you