Doss, Shaheed represent Big Sky on ADA All-American team


The Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA), in coordination with the 13 FCS conference offices, announced the 2017 FCS ADA All-America team on Thursday. The fifth annual award recognizes the top student-athletes from FCS institutions at 11 different positions. The 2017 class includes student-athletes from 11 different institutions, representing six different conferences. The Big Sky Conference had two players named to the All-America team. Voting was conducted by a national panel, consisting of media and SIDs.

UC Davis junior wide receiver Keelan Doss and Weber State freshman return specialist Rashid Shaheed represented the Big Sky on this year’s list. The Big Sky also held two of the 11 spots a year ago.

UC Davis wide receiver Keelan Doss/ UC Davis athletics

A Walter Payton Award candidate, Doss was named the Big Sky Offensive Player of the Year and was also selected to The Associated Press All-America First Team on Tuesday. The First Team All-Big Sky honoree wide receiver set three UC Davis single-season program records: total receiving yards, receptions and 100-yard games (9). He also set two new Big Sky era single-game records when he finished with 15 receptions and 208 receiving yards when the Aggies hosted Eastern Washington. Doss ranked No. 1 in the nation among all Division I FBS and FCS players in receiving yards (1,499), receiving yards per game (136.3) and receptions per game (10.5) at the conclusion of the regular season.

Shaheed, a major catalyst in Weber State’s Big Sky crown, was named a First Team kick returner. Shaheed finished the regular season third in the nation in kickoff returns with an average of 31.7 yards per return. He had 17 returns for 539 yards and two kickoff returns. He returned a kick 100 yards for a touchdown against Southern Utah and another kick 90 yards for a touchdown at Portland State. Shaheed is one of four players in the country with at least two kickoff returns for touchdowns this season. Shaheed also leads the Wildcats and is seventh in the Big Sky in all-purpose yards. He had 22 receptions for 498 yards and three touchdowns.

From the 11 players listed below, a national Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year will be announced at a later date and recognized at the National Championship Game in Frisco, Texas, on January 6, during an on-field presentation. Of the 11 student-athletes, nine participated in the 2017 NCAA Division I Football Championship.

Position            Name                           Institution

QB                   Jeremiah Briscoe         Sam Houston State

RB                   Dominick Bragalone     Lehigh

WR                  Keelan Doss                 UC Davis

TE                    Dallas Goedert             South Dakota State

OL                   Austin Kuhnert             North Dakota State

PK                    Lorran Fonseca           Nicholls State

DL                    Andrew Ankrah           James Madison

LB                    Brett Taylor                 Western Illinois

DB                   Mike Basile                   Monmouth

RS                 Rashid Shaheed          Weber State

P                      Joe Zema                     Incarnate Word

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 24th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 53rd year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit

About Press Release

    Recommended for you